1-2 December 2017 in Split (Croatia) took place the UEG Congress. At the congress were presented all 50 member federations. Among them was our federation, presented by: Konstantin Lashkhi—President, Rusudan Khoperia –Secretary General, Rusudan Sikharulidze—The First Vice-President, Besarion Gamsakhurdia—Vice-President.

The congress heard the report for the last 4 year , and also were elected the new President and authorities.

Farid Gayibov is the new President of the European Union of Gymnastics (UEG) with 28 votes to 20 for Edvard Kolar. The Azerbaijani becomes the fifth UEG President and succeeds Frenchman Georges Guelzec who stands down after 8 years at the helm.

Joining the President in the Presidential Board are Rudolf Hediger (SUI), Michel Boutard (FRA) and Athanasios Vasileiadis while Mircea Apolzan (ROU), Erik Juhl Mogensen (DEN), Andrey Fedarau (BLR), Paolo Frising (LUX), Solveig Jonsdottir (ISL), Andrey Rodionenko (RUS) and Judit Körmendy-Ekes (HUN) will assist the discussions and decision making in the Executive Committee, in addition to the Technical Committee Presidents. Also here are the 8 Technical committees’ Presidents:

Men’s Technical Committee

Tom Thingvold (NOR) – President

Women’s Technical Committee

Anca Grigoras (ROU) – President

Rhythmic Gymnastics Technical Committee

Maria Petrova (BUL) – President

Trampoline Technical Committee

Vladimir Zeman (CZE) – President

Acrobatic Gymnastics Technical Committee

Carine Charlier (FRA) – President

Aerobic Gymnastics Technical Committee

Cristina Casentini (ITA) – President

TeamGym Technical Committee

Per Sjostrand (SWE) – President

Gymnastics for All Technical Committee

Hlif Thorgeirsdottir (ISL) – President

We congratulate Mr. Gayibov and wish him and to his team all the best.